Select page

Technical references

Discard Criteria

The following table shows the discard criteria according to the elevator rope standards EN 12385-5 and ISO 4344

Reduction in rope diameter

The rope should be replaced if the rope diameter is reduced by more than 6 per cent based on a rope nominal diameter.

For comparison the discard criteria of the current standards

The following table indicates whether a rope is to be re-placed, based on the number of broken wires in the rope section with the highest number of such fractions. The reference length is 6 x or 30 x the rope diameter. The table complies with the specification of TRA 102 and DIN 15020, BI.2.


The values apply only under the following conditions:

  • The ropes are single layer regular lay ropes
    (the steel core is not considered a strand layer)
  • The friction sheave is of cast iron or steel
    (for traction drive elevators)
  • The broken wires are distributed evenly across the majority of the strands

Please note

  • If wire fractures don’t occur in a regular pattern across the majority of the strands but are concen-trated in one or two strands, the above table is not applicable. 
  • Such ropes must be replaced, if there are 5 or more broken wires adjacent to each other within one strand. 
  • Ropes with excessive crown wear tend to show rapidly increasing numbers of broken wires.


Under certain circumstances and depending on the operating conditions, the machine design and the loads, etc., ropes might have to be replaced, even if there are no visible broken wires at the outer strands: ropes with a diameter reduction of more than 6% (from nominal diameter) even in only a short section must be immediately removed.


If the elevator system contains plastic sheaves, refer to German safety instructions for elevators “SR Kunststoffrollen“, as ropes in such systems tend to show internal rather then external wire fractures. The above table is to be seen only as a guideline for rope inspection and the decision for rope discard. Please note that the above figures are never to be considered the only criteria for rope discard. Any detected changes in the rope must be taken into account when assessing a rope. The final decision to remove a rope must be made on the basis of the experience of the assessing person.


For DRAKO ropes installed in systems outside Germany, the relevant statutory regulations for rope replacement apply.

Seitenauswahl
Suchen
Suchen

Technische Hinweise

Ablegereife

Die nachfolgende Tabelle zeigt die Ablegekriterien entsprechend den Aufzugseilenormen EN 12385-5 und ISO 4344

Reduzierung des Seildurchmessers

Hat sich der Seildurchmesser um mehr als 6% von Seilnenndurchmesser verringert, sollten die Seile abgelegt werden.

Zum Vergleich die Ablegekriterien der bisher geltenden Normen

Die nachfolgende Tabelle zeigt die Drahtbruchzahl im Seilstück mit den meisten Drahtbrüchen, bei der das Seil spätestens abgelegt werden sollte. Bezugslänge ist jeweils die Länge 6 x Seildurchmesser bzw. 30 x Seildurchmesser. Die Tabelle entspricht den Vorgaben von TRA 102 und DIN 15 020, BI. 2.

 

Die Werte gelten unter folgenden Voraussetzungen:

  • die Seile sind einlagige Kreuzschlagseile
    (Die Stahleinlage zählt nicht als Litzenlage)
  • zumindest die Treibscheibe ist aus Grauguss oder Stahl (beim Treibscheibenaufzug)
  • die Drahtbrüche sind relativ gleichmäßig über die Mehrzahl der Litzen verteilt

Zu beachten

  • Treten die Drahtbrüche nicht relativ gleichmäßig über die Mehrzahl der Litzen verteilt auf, sondern konzentrieren sich auf eine oder zwei Litzen, so ist die Tabelle nicht anwendbar.
  • Die Seile sind jedenfalls dann abzulegen, wenn in einer Litze 5 und mehr Drahtbrüche nebeneinander vorhanden sind.
  • Zeigen Seile starken äußeren Verschleiß, so ist mit verhältnismäßig schnell zunehmenden Drahtbruchzahlen zu rechnen.

 

Unter bestimmten Umständen, abhängig u. a. von der Umgebung, der Maschinenauslegung und den Gewichtsverhältnissen können Seile auch ohne erkennbare Außendrahtbrüche ablegereif sein. So ist z. B. die Durchmesser-Reduzierung um mehr als 6 % vom Nenndurchmesser, und sei es auch nur in einem ganz kurzen Seilbereich, ein wesentlicher Grund für ein sofortiges Ablegen des Seiles.

 

Werden in einem Aufzug Kunststoffrollen verwendet, so ist die sicherheitstechnische Richtlinie für Aufzüge “Seilrollen aus Kunststoff” zu beachten, da hier unter bestimmten Umständen eher innere als äußere Drahtbrüche auftreten werden. Insgesamt bietet die Tabelle lediglich eine Richtlinie zur Seilkontrolle und Erkennung der Ablegereife. Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass die o. g. Zahlen nicht die alleinigen Kriterien für die Ablegereife sind. Alle Beobachtungen über Seilveränderungen müssen in die Betrachtung einbezogen werden. Die letztliche Entscheidung zum Austausch des Seiles basiert auf der Erfahrung des Untersuchenden.

 

Werden DRAKO-Seile außerhalb Deutschlands eingebaut, gelten die entsprechenden nationalen Richtlinien für die Ablegereife.